unfortunately the local area was overrun with barking dogs I mean constant - the unit's shower did not provide hot water easily - an old on demand system that you need to hold your finger over the extension tube to force all the water into the shower head and to get warmest water keep the flow low - also don't touch it or it will shock you - you're standing in water - did I mention the barking and music noise! it could stand a good cleaning on the lights and pictures - tells you that they don't realize these need attention. the disappointment is the good people the owner is and the lack of concern San Ignacio & Belize have with loose, noisy dogs. If that's "just Belize" then stay outside the towns in a place like Chaa Creek or Ka Ana, anyplace but in town - besides one can do San Ignacio in half a day. best inexpensive food was Hodes. Best shop was Indita Maya. Again Eva was a great person, but simply put every town in Belize has a dog problem & if you are unable to sleep with dogs barking stay outside the town.
Lo que más le gustó:
the owner - secure fenced yard & secure unit
Lo que menos le ha gustado:
neighborhood dogs barked constantly 24/7 - incredibly loud music from local bars and church 800' away never got a good nights sleep b/c of constant noise - not owner's fault - that's just San Ignacio in Bullet Tree road area - all of San Ignacio
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de TripAdvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
2 mar 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Guest feed back is very important to us. We always try to make our guests' stay as positive as possible, however we do rely on our guests reporting issues to us so we can help to resolve them.
In this case, you never said a word about the fact that you were struggling with the hot water system in the cottage. If you had, Eva would have gladly checked and showed you how to use it. From your description, it sounds as if you had the extension open instead of closed, which was redirecting water flow. We have never had any guests complain about getting hot water or being shocked, so we feel you must have been doing something wrong. Again, we would have been happy to inspect and correct, but we weren't given that opportunity.
In regards to the light fixtures, they are cleaned before every guest check in. Perhaps by the end of your one-month stay some dust had accumulated, but certainly not a large amount. And the picture is not dirty, but rather has some blemishes on it which may have appeared as dirt.
In regards to the barking dogs, yes, dogs are quite common in most of Belize (even in rural areas) as they are used for security. Also, with no formal animal control or shelters in place, many dogs roam free. There is nothing any establishment can do about this issue. As you can see from all of our past 5 star reviews, our guests have always been able to get a good night's rest here, but we are sorry you were not.
Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la dirección, no de TripAdvisor LLC