Treak Cliff Cavern

Treak Cliff Cavern, Castleton

Treak Cliff Cavern
4.5
De 10:00 a 16:00
Lunes
10:00 - 16:00
Martes
10:00 - 16:00
Miércoles
10:00 - 16:00
Jueves
10:00 - 16:00
Viernes
10:00 - 16:00
Sábado
10:00 - 16:00
Domingo
10:00 - 16:00
Lo que la gente dice
So happy we went to this cavern instead of the boat tour...
ago. de 2017
Estábamos en una sala de té, hablando de nuestro día, y nuestro anfitrión brillante nos sugirió que nos visita Expedición Cliff Cavern. Un paseo muy pintoresco de la ciudad de castleton hasta la entrada, pero también algunos escalones para navegar. Bien vale la pena. Un tour estaba por comenzar cuando llegamos allí, y nuestro guía nos dijo que podíamos recoger nuestras entradas en el camino. (sé que en algunos lugares nos hubiera dicho que esperar para el próximo tour, pero no aquí). La primera parte era simplemente acostumbrarse a la poca luz y recordando a pato. La segunda, se me olvidó, así que no molestaban mi cabeza un poco. Nuestro guía se aseguró de que todos estaban bien antes de dirigirnos a la caverna, y él era muy bueno interactuar con los niños en el grupo. Explicación brillante de lo que estábamos viendo y era agradable estar guiada por alguien muy bien informado y atrayente. Era tiempo para tomar fotografías y hacer preguntas en el camino, así que no tuvimos la sensación de que nuestro guía era simplemente ir a través de los movimientos. Él era verdaderamente feliz para responder preguntas y explicar las cosas que fueron. Aunque no parece ser mucho desde el exterior, recomiendo encarecidamente que vayas dentro. Algunas cosas a tener en cuenta, aunque hay pasos y es resbaladiza dentro, así que no apto para alguien con problemas de movilidad. Zapatos y recordar a pato al entrar - me enteré de la manera difícil ;) no tenemos hijos, pero según la experiencia que yo diría que es una experiencia ideal para niños como adultos.

Sugiere modificaciones para mejorar lo que mostramos.
Mejorar este perfil
Tours y experiencias
Encuentra otras maneras de disfrutar de este lugar.
¿Qué son los Travellers' Choice?
Tripadvisor concede el premio Travellers' Choice a aquellos alojamientos, atracciones y restaurantes que reciben constantemente opiniones excelentes de los viajeros y se encuentran entre el 10 % de los mejores establecimientos de Tripadvisor.
La zona
Dirección
Lo mejor en los alrededores
Clasificamos estos restaurantes y atracciones cotejando las opiniones de nuestros miembros con su cercanía a esta ubicación.
Restaurantes
39 en un radio de 5 km
Atracciones
25 en un radio de 10 km

4.5
# opinión783 opiniones
Excelente
546
Muy bien
188
Normal
34
Mala
9
Pésima
6

Katie D
Brighton and Hove, UK353 contribuciones
oct. de 2021
You can get up close to the Blue John formations in the cavern, The stalagmites and stalactites are everywhere, it is an incredible sight!
Escrita el 17 de enero de 2022
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Elina Michaelidou
Londres, UK413 contribuciones
dic. de 2021
Treak Cliff was a very interesting place. We visited it during our return hike from Mam Tor to Castleton. The audio guide was informative but as we were walking while listening to it, there were times that the next track would start before the previous one finished. The place wasn't very crowded when we visited and the whole tour took us less than the recommended time. The viewpoint at the end of the tour was great too!
Escrita el 14 de enero de 2022
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Wayne
2 contribuciones
dic. de 2021 • Familia
Don’t know how to be polite about this one 🤦‍♂️

So there was nothing good about it in the slightest, within 12 minutes we were in and out.. the price is insane cost us 34 pounds to see it.. it’s a national park and they are charging 34 pounds for a few minutes walk

Appauling no other words
Escrita el 29 de diciembre de 2021
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your tour of Treak Cliff Cavern but we would like to respond to some of the points you have made in your review. Firstly the cost, Treak Cliff Cavern although in the Peak District National Park is a privately owned business and our entrance fees are competitively priced against the other show caves in the area. The tour you booked was a self guided audio tour which runs for approximately 40 minutes so we are baffled as why you were in and out in 12 minutes. On investigation we think there can be only be two reasons your tour was so short. The most probable is that you didn't listen to the tour, the second is that you and your children weren't interested. May we suggest you choose something more suited to yourself and your children next time you want a day out. Perhaps your children would be more entertained in a ball pit and who knows, if you ask the management nicely they may let you join them too. Finally with regard to the title of your review, if you want to dig your own hole why not go to Skegness and don't forget your bucket and spade. Kind regards TCC
Escrita el 1 de enero de 2022
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la dirección, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

gwrjack
Cookham Berks35 contribuciones
We really enjoyed our visit to Treak Cliff Cavern. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the cavern is terrific. The animation and museum are very informative and there are some beautiful things for sale in the shop. Loved the self guided tour app which is very well done. A fascinating place to explore. Highly recommended
Escrita el 13 de diciembre de 2021
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

SR1
4 contribuciones
nov. de 2021 • En solitario
Excellent. I had checked the website so had warm, waterproof clothes and boots at the ready plus the app downloaded. It does need you to manage steps and low ceilings, but this was warned about and the rails really helped. Lovely to see the Christmas lighting and trees in place. Don't forget to view the museum area and little shop afterwards!
Escrita el 26 de noviembre de 2021
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Teckel02
Londres, UK33 contribuciones
nov. de 2021
Went on a self-guided tour. Most interesting and enjoyable.
Takes around 45 mins and is well narrated. See plenty of Blue John veins and some impressive stalactites & stalagmites.
Take a look at the museum afterwards. We forgot to go round which was frustrating!
Escrita el 15 de noviembre de 2021
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

thebarn
1 contribución
nov. de 2021
I visited the site of the Cavern this week with my son intending to tour around and was very disappointed not even to be greeted by any hello from staff who appeared dour and seemed very uninterested in their work. My son was put off by this and did not want to go on the tour because of it. In addition there is a Telescope immediately outside the entrance which costs 20 p a go which my son was interested in and he put his money in to it. It took the money but was not working and had no sign on it informing of this. Staff at the Cavern claimed that they didn't know it wasn't working and that it had nothing to do with them anyway as it didn't belong to them. Eventually we were able to persuade them that they should contact the provider as it reflects on their business but I am unsure whether this has happened. Meanwhile lots of children will be putting in their 20p's and gaining only disappointment. Please do some customer service training and try to retain some excitement for visitors as well as putting an out of order sign on the telescope. Thank you
Escrita el 11 de noviembre de 2021
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Thank you for your review although we are not sure what exactly it is that you are reviewing. As you didn't visit the cavern we can only assume that you are reviewing the telescope that stands outside of our building. We are sorry to hear of the loss of your 20p but as you were informed on the day the telescope is not the property of Treak Cliff Cavern. With regards to there not being an out of order sign on it we genuinely didn't know there was anything wrong with it and having now tried it for ourselves six times in total can find nothing wrong with it. Did you look through the right end and did you open the right eye when looking through it. I only ask this because you obviously missed the large information plate on it that gave the name of the company that owns the telescope. Once again we'd like to apologize for the deep disappointment you had with the telescope but on the bright side you now have new fans that are looking forward to your future reviews. Maybe you'll go the the coast and complain the beach was too sandy, the sea to wet, we look forward to reading them. Kind regards TCC
Escrita el 11 de noviembre de 2021
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la dirección, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Cara L
Leicestershire148 contribuciones
oct. de 2021
A very beautiful cavern showing lots of well illuminated Blue John stone in its natural form and well maintained. The venue had free parking - be mindful of the slight climb to the entrance - not the nicest with pouring rain!

Would suggest booking online prior to visit for an efficient visit

Be sure to dress warmly and also wear footwear with a good grip as the floor is wet throughout

Friendly staff

A nice gift shop with interesting souvenirs to purchase would def recommend a visit
Escrita el 15 de octubre de 2021
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Deryn H
Waterlooville, UK2.161 contribuciones
sept. de 2021
We actually went to the two other caverns which were fully booked before going to Break Cliff Cavern. We were in luck and only had a 115 minute wait. We went to the museum to wait and I even got an app on my phone by one of the staff, which would give us a guided tour as we travelled around the site. We set off on our own with our virtual guide as saw some brilliant sites and learnt a lot about the whole Blue John Cave system which is in the hands of one owners, four sites. The ap knew where you were in the complex and gave you an auditory overview accordingly which mean that you could take you time and even loiter for the lights to go out and experience the darkness. There were fossils, stalactites, stalagmites, curtain formations. A talk on the history of the finding of the Blue John and cave spiders! All wrapped up with very good commentary. We were through in about 45 minutes. An excellent experience.
Escrita el 2 de octubre de 2021
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Pete I
47 contribuciones
sept. de 2021 • Parejas
A self-paced tour thru the cavern using the audio app on your own phone. Not the easiest place to get around with wet steps and limited headroom but about as real as you can get. Stand still and wait for the lights to go out to appreciate the conditions the builders worked in.
The staff were helpful, knowledgeable and gave a great sense of the history and people involved in this cavern during its working life and now as an awesome attraction.
Escrita el 28 de septiembre de 2021
Esta es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Se muestran los resultados 1-10 de 783
¿Hay algo que no coincida o no sea correcto?
Sugiere modificaciones para mejorar lo que mostramos.
Mejorar este perfil