I had written 3 pages for this review. However its doubtful they would be read. Instead I will bullet point our feedback, which is honest and genuine.
A 2 week stay Sept/Oct, and the last time we will ever go to the town Mijas Pueblo itself.
The owner does not meet you with the keys (as stated int he booking details). You will have to collect them from an obscure restaurant in the main town. No one there knew where the apartment was, no map was provided, only an address. We had never been here before, so it was a complicated procedure to undergo as there being no phone signal, we could not use any mapping. We expected to be supplied with directions on collecting the keys.
If your lucky you may find a spot to park near the flat for a few minutes to unload (as mentioned by the owner), however its unlikely, as locals are doing the same, as well as tradesmen. Otherwise like us it was a VERY long walk from the multi storey car park with cases etc. in a strange town, without a map.
From the point on the road where the flat is located, there are just short of 50 steps up to the actual flat lounge door.
The apartment was superficially clean, not spotless, there were many areas with dust. It was well equipped, although some other items would have been useful in the kitchen, but photos on Holiday Lettings are not current. There is a new sofa which is very nice to look at, but uncomfortable to sit on for any time, a new fridge has been installed, but with only an ice box, and there is no other freezer (as stated in the details?)
Air con is only in the lounge. As there is no fan in the bedroom, during the night this made sleeping very uncomfortable, due to the configuration of the windows and curtains, this made it difficult to maintain any air flow and keep the window open. There is no form of heating other than the air con, there is central heating(as stated in the details)
Lack of maintenance meant there were bulbs missing throughout, most importantly the two on the steep stairwell leading up to the flat door, at night this was very dangerous as there was no ambient light to this enclosed area. You will need a torch!
The one thing that really annoyed us was that reviews and details imply that the balcony, terrace and solarium are private to this flat. They are not. When out one day, we discovered the people from the lower flat had entered these areas for maintenance purposes, problem was they didn't have the decency to lock up after them nor were we informed that this may happen! The next day whilst sunbathing a young woman and man, just walked up the locked stairwell, the stairwell which we thought was only for our flat, they just strolled onto the terrace where we were, much to their and our surprise. They apparently thought we had gone out as the day before, so obviously thought they'd just come in to conduct maintenance to there property, not the property subject of this review.
We had no notification from the owner that this might happen. Had we known any area was communal we would NEVER have booked this place. It is wrong that this is not highlighted in the booking details.
We complained to the owner and Holiday Lettings. We were not impressed by the response from the owner, although she did apologise, and although Holiday Lettings did contact her and ourselves we were not overly impressed by there response either. It seemed we did not fit into there generic complaints procedure? The owner did acknowledge that the details on the booking sire needed updating.
No, we would not book this apartment again, mainly because we do not like having our privacy invaded, at least not without notice.
No, we would not visit Mijas Pueblo again, as it is not the quiet, quaint hillside village we were led to believe, there is far too much traffic and tourist for our liking.